Montpelier Commission on Recovery and Resilience For Immediate Release Contact: Ben Doyle, Commission Chair 802-839-9914 monteplierfloodcommission@gmail.com

Building on the momentum of a series of local forums, the Montpelier Commission on Recovery and Resilience has begun meeting biweekly to work on the priorities established by the community to accelerate recovery from the July flooding and improve its ability to withstand future disasters. In addition to electing Ben Doyle as Chair and Richarda Ericson as Vice-Chair, the Commission organized priorities for action into the following categories:

Watershed Management Infrastructure Adaptive Downtown and Critical Functions Immediate Response and Alerts Housing and Land Use Fundraising

Initial efforts in support of a resilient downtown have included outreach to the General Services Administration, the U.S. Postal Service, and congressional delegation about the future of the Montpelier federal building and post office. Commission members have also reached out to the Vermont Department of Buildings and General Services to understand current plans for state owned buildings downtown. Finally, the Commission is coordinating with community members in the creation of a long-term recovery group to support individuals and households affected by the flood.

In the coming months, the Commission will gather additional community input on proposed actions as well as welcome volunteers. It is also working to secure funding to enable the hiring of an Executive Director to enhance the Commission's ability to advance projects.

Questions and interest in volunteering can be directed to montpelierfloodcommission@gmail.com Additional information can be found at <u>www.montpelierstrong.org</u>

Commission Members Ben Doyle, Commission Chair, President of Preservation Trust of Vermont (Montpelier Foundation) Richarda Ericson, Commission Vice-Chair, Riverine and Conservation Expert Paul Carnahan, Historian Gregg Gossens, Partner, Gossens Bachman Architects Marc Gwinn, Certified Financial Planner, Edward Jones Lauren Hierl, Executive Director, Vermont Conservation Voters (Montpelier City Council) Jennifer Hollar, Community Development and Housing Specialist Aly Richards, Executive Director, Let's Grow Kids James Rea, Environment and Resilience Consultant Nathan Suter, Consultant and Partner, BUILD Ned Swanberg, Floodplain Manager, VT Department of Environmental Conservation Stephanie Smith, Hazard Mitigation Officer, State of Vermont Katie Trautz, Executive Director, Montpelier Alive Peter Walke, Executive Director, Efficiency Vermont Ben Wetherell, Montpelier High School